Medical Imaging

Winners Announced for 2021 Imaging Wire Awards

The Imaging Wire is thrilled to announce the winners of the 2021 Imaging Wire Awards, honoring this year’s most outstanding contributors to radiology.

The following Imaging Wire Award winners were nominated by their peers and selected by a panel of judges for their efforts to evolve radiology and improve the lives of clinicians and patients:

COVID Hero: Lt Col Giovanni Lorenz, DO; Deputy Radiology Product Line Leader, San Antonio Military Health System (SAMHS)

Lt Col Dr. Giovanni Lorenz distinguished himself and the San Antonio Military Health System during the COVID pandemic, developing new remote diagnostic programs that improved SAMHS’ cardiac imaging operations, while also leading several National military COVID-19 working groups.

Diagnostic Humanitarian: Arlene Richardson, MD; Radiology Department Chair, Jackson Park Hospital

Dr. Richardson serves as Radiology Chair for Jackson Park Hospital and Medical Center, where she upholds equitable care for the hospital’s traditionally underserved patient population, and is deeply involved in RAD-AID International, where she currently serves as Director of RAD-AID Tanzania.

AI Activator: Greg Zaharchuk, MD, PhD; Professor of Radiology, Stanford University, Founder of Subtle Medical

In addition to his clinical and academic achievements at Stanford, the image enhancement solutions that Dr. Zaharchuk developed with Subtle Medical have significantly improved hospitals and imaging centers’ productivity and their patients’ experiences. 

Insights to Action: Richard Duszak, MD; Professor and Vice Chair of Radiology, Emory University

Dr. Duszak founded the Neiman Health Policy Institute and currently leads radiology health policy and practice efforts at both Emory University and the JACR, where he and colleagues have expanded awareness of imaging overuse and volume growth.

Burnout Fighter: Chris Mattern, MD; Practice President, Greensboro Radiology

Dr. Mattern created and leads many of Radiology Partners’ mental health and burnout prevention programs, combining education, mentorship, and communication to improve the organization’s cultural wellness.

Cornerstone: Elad Walach; CEO, Aidoc Medical

Elad Walach and his teams have developed seven FDA-cleared AI products and brought AI into clinical use across 600 global sites, improving medical imaging efficiencies and quality of care.

Tech Trailblazer: Sheela Agarwal, MBA, MD; Chief Medical Information Officer, Nuance Communications

Through her work with the ACR Data Science Institute and Nuance Communications, Dr. Agarwal has championed radiology professionals’ role in bringing AI into clinical care, while providing much needed tools and frameworks to support AI adoption.

The 2021 Imaging Wire Award judges include: Bill Algee of Columbus Regional Hospital, Dr. Jared D. Christensen of Duke University Health, Dr. Keith J. Dreyer of Mass General Brigham, Dr. Allan Hoffman of Commonwealth Radiology Associates, Dr. Saurabh Jha of Penn Medicine, Dr. Ryan K. Lee of Einstein Healthcare Network, Dr. Marla B.K. Sammer of Texas Children’s Hospital, and Dr. Irena Tocino of Yale New Haven Hospital.

Congratulations to this year’s Imaging Wire Award winners and nominees, who’s efforts to elevate radiology is truly inspiring. Also, thanks to this year’s amazing judges and everyone who nominated these very deserving imaging professionals!

Get every issue of The Imaging Wire, delivered right to your inbox.

You might also like

You might also like..

Select All

You're signed up!

It's great to have you as a reader. Check your inbox for a welcome email.

-- The Imaging Wire team

You're all set!